Upcoming Events

Sorry for the delay on this, especially since that means you may have missed Deep Ellum Brewing Company’s Beer School at Oak St. Drafthouse in Denton last night. It’s ok, I hear it was sold out anyways. Oak St. Drafthouse will be hosting a series of these with various breweries. The next is with Franconia Brewing Company on May 28, as well as Rahr and Sons, Live Oak Brewing Company, 512 Brewing Company, and Real Ale to be scheduled. Cost last night was $40 which got you 3 pints of beer (includes sampler), 2 t-shirts (1 DEBC and 1 Oak St.), 2 DEBC glasses, food pairings, and of course, a class about the beer.

So here’s some other events to watch out for in the next week or so:

May 2
Rahr and Sons Brewery Tour, $10 a person, 5-7:30PM (got an Avenger themed and Cinco De Mayo themed glasses to choose from)

May 3

DEBC Brewery Tour, $10 a person, 5-7PM

May 4

Franconia Brewing Company Mayfest at Bavarian Grill in Plano, $39.75 a person, 4-9:30PM

Armadillo Ale Works Beer Tasting at SCRAP in Denton, Free, 6-9PM

May 5

Revolver Brewing Company Beer Sampling at Lake House Grill (Granbury – map), Noon-5PM (This is a new brewery out of Granbury. I haven’t confirmed this, but I do not believe they’ve obtained all their licenses, so this is could be a free sampling, and it says “Just show up (and be 21)!”)

DEBC Brewery Tour, $10 a person, Noon-3PM (new shirts and glasses now available)

Franconia Brewing Company Brewery Tour, $5 a person, 11AM-1PM

Rahr and Sons Brewing Company Brewery Tour, $10 a person, 1-3PM

May 8

Dallas Brewer’s Beer Dinner, $30 a person, 7-10PM

In addition to all that, Peticolas Brewing Company is offering discounted tickets to the next 2 FC Dallas home games (May 6 &9).

And as promised, here’s Part 2 of the Beer Betties interview with Michael Peticolas (Peticolas Brewing Company). And here they are again at the Big Texas Beer Fest a couple weeks back.

About dfwbeerscene

I am a beer nut. I drink it all the time, I brew it as much as humanly possible, and if I'm not doing either of the first two, I'm probably thinking about it. So as a beer nut, I've always followed the limited beer scene in DFW, and up until recently, there wasn't a whole lot to discuss. Well now there sure is! As many of you already know, DFW and its surrounding areas is having a bit of a beer renaissance. Every month last year I'd hear about more and more breweries "in development" and I'd scurry the web to find out where I can monitor their progress. And that, is what I intend to do with this blog. So now a little bit about myself: I am an environmental scientist by trade, but as of January 2011 I have made the decision to become a professional brewer. Since then, I applied and was accepted to the American Brewers' Guild CraftBrewers Apprenticeship Program and am scheduled to begin in June 2013.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

