Lazy Bones: A Grapevine Institution

I am very disappointed to be writing this, but a great bar has been shut down due to a fire this past weekend. It was my local watering hole right off of Grapevine Main Street, called Lazy Bones.

Early Sunday morning, a fire started and quickly spread from the kitchen to the main bar area. Most of the roof had caved in, thankfully no one was in the building at the time and no one was injured. You can read the rest of the details (not many) in the article.

First and foremost, my deepest condolences go out to the ownership and staff of Lazy Bones. These are the people who made Lazy Bones what it is today. Some would describe it as a family. Whatever it is, there is definitely a special sense of community you don’t find many places. And in my opinion, it is this sense of community, that keeps people coming back (and will be the reason Lazy Bones comes back).

Did I mention the 20 beers on tap, another 30 (maybe more?) in bottle, premium liquor, great food, and more than reasonable prices? Foosball, Golden Tee, darts, jukebox, and lots of brand new TVs. What else do you need? I was always able to find the most recent beer to be distributed in Texas or the newest release from breweries all over the state and country. They just recently began carrying Ballast Point’s Sculpin, which I was very much looking forward to more of.

So not only did the bar offer everything you could ask for, but it was the kind of place that you could walk into at any time, and find a familiar face to chat with. Even if you were the only customer, the staff has always been like friends. It was the place where you’d walk in for the Rangers playoff games and have a bag of cracker jacks tossed to you from behind the bar. It was the place that turned on America’s Funniest Home Videos after a late afternoon Cowboys lost. It was always a place that focused on fun, and the friendly people who worked there and drank there were good at making sure that happened. Everyone was welcomed and pretty much everyone walked away with good things to say.

So to all those who made Lazy Bones what it has become, thank you. I can’t wait until it re-opens and am sure it will pick up where it left off.

About dfwbeerscene

I am a beer nut. I drink it all the time, I brew it as much as humanly possible, and if I'm not doing either of the first two, I'm probably thinking about it. So as a beer nut, I've always followed the limited beer scene in DFW, and up until recently, there wasn't a whole lot to discuss. Well now there sure is! As many of you already know, DFW and its surrounding areas is having a bit of a beer renaissance. Every month last year I'd hear about more and more breweries "in development" and I'd scurry the web to find out where I can monitor their progress. And that, is what I intend to do with this blog. So now a little bit about myself: I am an environmental scientist by trade, but as of January 2011 I have made the decision to become a professional brewer. Since then, I applied and was accepted to the American Brewers' Guild CraftBrewers Apprenticeship Program and am scheduled to begin in June 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazy Bones: A Grapevine Institution

  1. Johanna says:

    This had me in tears and smiling at the same time. As one of the owners of Lazy Bones, it is so nice to hear positive things right now, when things seem somewhat bleak. We love our little LB family, which includes our spectacular staff and motley crew of loyal regulars. The building looking like a house, I think, conveyed what we are all about… a second home, a welcoming group of friendly faces at the end of a hard day – a family. Lazy Bones will reopen – I’d like to buy your first drink when we do.
    Thank you.
    Johanna Simpson Baker

Leave a Reply

