Deep Ellum Brewing Company’s Beer Garden

If you’re anything like me, this time of year is all about spending your days and nights outside before the relentless heat sets in. Well DEBC has given us a great way to enjoy the weather: a beer garden!

So yesterday I went for a morning bike ride around White Rock Lake, then on down to DEBC. For those of you who don’t know, DEBC is open every Saturday from 12-3pm. Cost is $10 and you get a DEBC pint glass, plus you get to try their beers!

I was very excited to see the new digs, especially after getting sneak peaks all week on their Facebook page. I had been there before in Jan and Feb, and wow does this place look great now. See for yourself:

The stage was a great addition and the fencing really gives it a back porch feel without cutting off the breeze. They had 2 temporary bars set up outside and I was told that there are plans to construct a permanent bar in the back right corner (along the building, opposite of the stage). That picture was taken at 11:55am by the way. So was this one:

As you can see, people were lining up early. By the end of the 3 hour tour (bonus points for name that reference), they were handing out styrofoam cups because they had ran out of pint glasses. Didn’t stop people from enjoy the fine brews though:

Now, on to the beer! I started out with a Rye Pils. This is a fantastic beer and is my favorite Pilsner that I’ve tried. Many Pilsners seem to run together and I don’t need more than 1 because, to be honest, I get kinda bored. Not this one! The Rye and Liberty/Mount Hood hops lend a distinctive spice character (both are descendants of the Noble hop variety, Hallertauer), but with much more American hop character than Noble hops like Saaz and Hallertauer. The beer is dry hopped which adds to the complexity and the Sterling hops give the beer an absolute American hop flavor and bitterness. The beer is crisp and refreshing, and anything but boring. DEBC calls it a reinvented American Pilsner at 4.8%ABV and 38 IBUs. Sure to be a favorite in the coming summer months. I know I’d like to have a few out by the lake.

I moved on to my personal DEBC favorite, the Deep Ellum IPA. This beer is delicious. The amount of citrusy fruit, flora, and piney hop character is just amazing. Every time I have one, I am blow away with how great the flavor and aroma is with a pleasantly assertive bitterness. The fruit and floral flavors come through beautifully of the bitterness, which is not overbearing or astringent at all. DEBC says they achieve this by using high alpha hop varieties (which are typically used to provide the bulk of the bitterness by being added early to the boil and thus losing much of their flavor and aromatic qualities) later in the boil (and perhaps even dry-hopped with?) to allow their flavor and aroma to shine through while maintaining the crisp, pleasant bitterness of an IPA. I knew from the first time I put it up to my nose that Amarillo hops (my favorite) were used, but DEBC also adds Citra, Chinook, Palisade, and Summit hops. Not bad choices if you ask me. The beer weighs in at 7.0%ABV and 70 IBUs. I had entered the day planning on having the Double Brown Stout for my third and final beer of the day, but I just couldn’t pass up another IPA. Yum!

They also had the Backslider Blonde on tap. This beer is very good as well, but I just prefer to try the other beers since their more up my alley. Interesting enough, one of the first things I read about DEBC was that they were discontinuing the Backslider Blonde. I guess demand was high enough to bring it back?

I will go over their other beers that used to be offered and what is in the works (or the fermenter as the case may be) in a post later this month which will also cover the history of the brewery so far. Until then, I will continue to post about events and news in the area. I have a lot of plans to meet with developing breweries that keep popping up, so be sure to join the Facebook page and Twitter account to be notified of new posts.

So until then, do your part to help out the economy, especially when it’s right down the street. Stop being so selfish!

“Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed – Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, ‘It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver.’”
-Jack Handy

More pics:

Where the magic happens. Dude in the red is having a good time!

Brew Kettles

New artwork above taps.

About dfwbeerscene

I am a beer nut. I drink it all the time, I brew it as much as humanly possible, and if I'm not doing either of the first two, I'm probably thinking about it. So as a beer nut, I've always followed the limited beer scene in DFW, and up until recently, there wasn't a whole lot to discuss. Well now there sure is! As many of you already know, DFW and its surrounding areas is having a bit of a beer renaissance. Every month last year I'd hear about more and more breweries "in development" and I'd scurry the web to find out where I can monitor their progress. And that, is what I intend to do with this blog. So now a little bit about myself: I am an environmental scientist by trade, but as of January 2011 I have made the decision to become a professional brewer. Since then, I applied and was accepted to the American Brewers' Guild CraftBrewers Apprenticeship Program and am scheduled to begin in June 2013.
This entry was posted in Breweries, Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

