So Little To Do and So Much Time….Wait, Scratch That

Man I miss the good ole college days when all I was worried about is skipping classes so I could spend the entire day drinking beer and watching the NCAA tourny!

Now I have a full time job that always seems to get in the way of beer related activities (you know, what really matters in life), so I will be doing my best to get this blog off the ground by the end of the month and in doing so I’ve set some goals.

One of the main reasons I decided to start this here blog is to keep up to date on all the breweries “in development” around the Metroplex.  So my plan is to start off with a post about each brewery which are currently operating and have plans to be in operation this year.  After doing a little research today, I am very happy to say that we here in Dallas-Ft. Worth are in for a very good year if all goes according to plan.  Here’s the list of breweries I was able to compile:

Rahr and Sons Brewing Company – Ft. Worth

Franconia Brewing Company – McKinney

Deep Ellum Brewing Company – Dallas

Peticolas Brewing Company – Dallas

Lakewood Brewing Company – Garland

Armadillo Ale Works – Denton

All of the above are operating and available at select locations.  As you may or may not know, a federal court recently ruled parts of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code (TABC) unconstitutional.  Breweries are no longer prohibited from advertising which retail locations carry their beer, so there should be a list of accounts on each brewery’s website or you can always call and ask.  I can say from personal experience, it is well worth the small effort to find these beers.  I will do my best to keep a list of locations which are carrying local products.

I was actually able to have one of Deep Ellum Brewing Company (DEBC) newest release (on Leap Day I believe?), Dream Crusher – a Double India Pale Ale (DIPA), at the newly opened (week of March 4) Oak Street Draft House in Denton.  It was spicy and dank with just the perfect amount of malt backbone to stand up to the aggressive yet un-obtrusive bitterness.  The best way I can think to describe the bitterness level on the Dream Crusher is that it’s comparable to a great defender in basketball (it is March isn’t it?).  A great defender is literally on top of their opponent but has to allow that opponent the ability to move and cannot be impeding.  The Dream Crusher is alot like that.  You know that bitterness and hop flavor is upon you with every sensor, but your mouth is not wrecked after a half pint.  I need to grab a bottle (if there are still any left) so I can give it a proper tasting and really get some good notes.

Sorry for that aside.  There are also quite a few breweries “in development”:

Reunion Brewing Company– Dallas

FireWheel Brewing Company – Rowlett

Ugly Rugger Brewing – Denton

Denton County Brewing Company – Denton

Cedar Creek Brewery – Kemp

Revolver Brewing – Granbury

Unbound Brewing Company – North Texas

Most of these places have Facebooks and Twitters along with their websites.  I’ll be posting these in the links section.

Well that’ll do it for me tonight.  I have lots more to talk about, but it’s getting late, the Heat/Bulls game is getting interesting, and I got a bomber of Saint Arnold’s Endeavor in my fridge.

About dfwbeerscene

I am a beer nut. I drink it all the time, I brew it as much as humanly possible, and if I'm not doing either of the first two, I'm probably thinking about it. So as a beer nut, I've always followed the limited beer scene in DFW, and up until recently, there wasn't a whole lot to discuss. Well now there sure is! As many of you already know, DFW and its surrounding areas is having a bit of a beer renaissance. Every month last year I'd hear about more and more breweries "in development" and I'd scurry the web to find out where I can monitor their progress. And that, is what I intend to do with this blog. So now a little bit about myself: I am an environmental scientist by trade, but as of January 2011 I have made the decision to become a professional brewer. Since then, I applied and was accepted to the American Brewers' Guild CraftBrewers Apprenticeship Program and am scheduled to begin in June 2013.
This entry was posted in Breweries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Little To Do and So Much Time….Wait, Scratch That

  1. Thanks for the update! I had heard there were several breweries in development, and it is good to see them all in one place. I look forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

