Good Times Are Waiting, and Budweiser Is Not Involved

Well hello fellow beer lovers.  Maybe I should specify that, hello fellow North Texas beer lovers.

And what exciting time to be living in DFW as a beer enthusiast!  It seems like every time I turn around, there’s another brewery in development.  I can hardly keep up.  So as I was running around to find some St. Arnold’s Endeavor (their Double IPA was released on Leap Day but is going to be available year-round!), and then randomly walking into the brand new Oak Street Draft House in Denton which carried the just released Deep Ellum Brewing Company’s DreamCrusher (their Double IPA was released on Leap Day at select beer bars), it dawned on me: Why isn’t there a centrally located website where I can find out about all things beer in DFW?  Well, first off, it’s almost impossible to encompass all things beer.  But I think we can handle focusing the bulk of the content on local breweries, right?

So I decided to start this here blog.  I’m new to it, so go easy, but if you have any suggestions, let em rip.  My goal is to have updates on breweries in development and already in production.  I’ve been attempting to make sure I am well involved with the DFW brewing scene and have found the people behind these fine establishments are more than welcoming.  My hope is, with their help, that this can become a great resource for beer drinkers in our area.

I’ll start by posting a few commercial beer reviews I have done.  But check back often, as I’m sure this will get moving in no time.

Cheers,

Jonny

About dfwbeerscene

I am a beer nut. I drink it all the time, I brew it as much as humanly possible, and if I'm not doing either of the first two, I'm probably thinking about it. So as a beer nut, I've always followed the limited beer scene in DFW, and up until recently, there wasn't a whole lot to discuss. Well now there sure is! As many of you already know, DFW and its surrounding areas is having a bit of a beer renaissance. Every month last year I'd hear about more and more breweries "in development" and I'd scurry the web to find out where I can monitor their progress. And that, is what I intend to do with this blog. So now a little bit about myself: I am an environmental scientist by trade, but as of January 2011 I have made the decision to become a professional brewer. Since then, I applied and was accepted to the American Brewers' Guild CraftBrewers Apprenticeship Program and am scheduled to begin in June 2013.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

